АРДА-ТРЕЙДИНГ
Look on the world differently
 

History of Whisky Catto’s

James Catto is a truly legendary figure in the history of the development of Scotch whisky. He is considered one of the first creators of blended whisky.

It is believed that after the invention of distillation columns for the production of grain whisky in the 1830s, the first blended Scotch whisky was introduced in 1860, and James Catto at that time owned a thriving grocery business in the heart of Aberdeen. The proximity of Aberdeen to many Speyside and Highlands distilleries has turned it into an ideal place for the development of the art of blending Scotch whisky. Gathering samples of local whisky, James Catto carefully took samples, mixed and measured until he was sure that he could get the perfect blend.

By 1861, a year after the first blends were created, James brought his own blend to the market, which he called “James Catto’s Rare Old Scottish Highland Whisky”

In those days, Aberdeen was a thriving port, where many foreign ships called. James Catto’s store was extremely popular with foreign visitors and very quickly acquired an extensive clientele and a worthy reputation. James Catto’s school friends included the founders of the shipping companies P&O and White Star, as well as directors at Aberdeen and Commonwealth Line. With such a reach, Catto’s was soon featured on top ocean liners anchored in ports around the world.

So the brand grew in popularity. James Catto Blend has participated in many international wine and spirits exhibitions. He was awarded two prestigious gold medals – first in Paris in 1878, and then at the London International Exhibition in 1884.

From the earliest difficult days of its history, the brand of James Catto has perfected and in 1990 entered the portfolio of Inver House Distillers. In its best traditions, this blend is created by our blending master from our single malt alpine whisky and spacers, each of which brings something special to it. From the earliest days to this day, the Catto’s brand has remained truly international, with Canada, South America and Russia today as its main markets.

АРДА-ТРЕЙДИНГ
Взгляни на мир другими глазами
 

История Виски Каттос

Джеймс Катто – фигура поистине легендарная в истории развития шотландского виски. Он считается одним из самых первых создателей купажей (блендов) виски.

Полагают, что после изобретения дистилляционных колонн для производства зернового виски в 1830-х годах, первый купажированный шотландский виски был представлен в 1860 году, а Джеймс Катто в это время владел процветающим бакалейным бизнесом в самом сердце Абердина. Близость Абердина ко многим винокурням Спейсайда и Высокогорья превратила его в идеальное место для развития искусства купажа шотландского виски. Собирая образцы местного виски, Джеймс Катто бережно брал пробы, смешивал и проводил замеры до тех пор, пока он не был уверен, что смог получить совершенный купаж.

К 1861г., спустя год после создания первых блендов, Джеймс вывел на рынок собственный купаж, который он назвал «James Catto’s Rare Old Scottish Highland Whisky» (Редкий Выдержанный Высокогорный Шотландский Виски Джеймса Катто)

В те дни Абердин был процветающим портом, куда заходили многие иностранные корабли. Магазин Джеймса Катто был крайне популярен у заграничных посетителей и очень быстро обзавелся обширной клиентурой и достойной репутацией. Среди школьных друзей Джеймса Катто были основатели судоходных компаний P&O и White Star, а также директора предприятий Aberdeen и Commonwealth Line. Имея такую сферу влияния Catto’s вскоре был представлен на лучших океанских лайнерах, стающих на якорь в портах по всему миру.

Так росла популярность марки. Бленд Джеймса Катто принимал участие во многих международных выставках вин и спиртных напитков. Был отмечен двумя престижными золотыми медалями – сперва в Париже в 1878 году, а затем на Лондонской Международной Выставке в 1884 году.

С самых первых, нелегких дней своей истории, марка Джемса Катто совершенствовалась и в 1990 году вошла в портфолио Inver House Distillers. В лучших своих традициях этот бленд создается нашим мастером купажа из наших односолодовых высокогорных виски и спейсайдеров, каждый из которых привносит в него что-то особое. С ранних пор и по сей день бренд Catto’s остается поистине международным, а основными рынками сбыта сегодня являются Канада, Южная Америка и Россия.